top of page
Search
  • Coach Morefield

Player Spotlight - Kendall McCalla



Today we get a peak at the inner workings of #4, Senior Kendall McCalla.

1.) When did you start playing softball? -I started playing softball in the 3rd grade, before that I played baseball. I started playing because it seemed really fun. I was definitely drawn to it.

2.) What is your favorite position to play? -Shortstop

3.) What do you love most about softball? - Softball combines a lot of my favorite things. We get to be outside with other great players. We face some great competition throughout the season. Everything comes together and makes an amazing sport.

4.) Besides the essentials, what's something that you always have with you for softball games/practices? -I always have my white hat with me.

5.) What is your most memorable softball moment to date? -My first varsity start as a freshman. I jammed my finger before the game but didn't want to lose my spot. I played with a batting glove on the whole game and by then end my finger was purple and swollen. Coach McCall told me I was a “dedicated idiot”. One of the best days of my life.

6.) What is the strangest item in your softball bag? -Pumpkin seeds from 2012

7.) What do you hope the team will accomplish this season? -I would love for our team to have better team chemistry. It seems to get better every year which I think greatly improves our playing.

8.) What are some of your hobbies outside of softball/school? -Honestly, I love to do puzzles. I also like to read or run. I work at I Don’t Care Grill ‘n’ Chill pretty much every second of my spare time outside of that.

9.) What are your future goals? -I am (probably) going to attend Illinois College in Jacksonville. I want to end up as a sports information director at a high school or college. I’m not sure where I would like to be geographically, but I’m sure I’ll end up all right.

10.) Any other fun tidbits you'd like to share? -We have a talented team, but factually speaking it is harder to advance in regionals because we are considered 2A. Go Bearcats

53 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page